Home > Leadership > Cabinet Members


District Administration Personnel
Position Person/Club
District Governor * Alan J. Sturtz [North Haven]
1st Vice District Governor * Lori-Ann Beninson [New Fairfield]
2nd Vice District Governor * Peter Marinelli [East Haven]
District Secretary * Susan Hurlburt [Bethany]
District Treasurer * Janet Brunwin [Bethany]
Immediate Past District Governor * Bill Manthey [Cheshire]
Past District Governor Association Chair Allen O’Farrell [Greenwich]
Chaplain Jim Bennett [New Haven]
Sunshine Committee Marie-Anne Barnhart [North Haven]


Zone Chair Personnel
Position Person/Club
Zone 1 Chair *
Darien, Greenwich, Western Greenwich, New Canaan, Stamford
Kammi Mehta [Greenwich]
Zone 2 Chair *
Easton, Fairfield, Georgetown, Norwalk, Ridgefield
Kim Cunningham [Ridgefield]
Zone 3 Chair *
Bridgeport Host, Monroe, Shelton Community, Stratford, Trumbull, Trumbull Center
Liz Horvath [Bridgeport Host]
Zone 4 Chair *
Beacon Falls, Bethany, Derby, Naugatuck, Oxford, Seymour, Southbury Community
Colleen Lieder [Seymour]
Zone 5 Chair *
Bethel, Brookfield, Danbury, New Fairfield, New Fairfield Candlewood, Newtown
John Tomaino [New Fairfield]
Zone 6 Chair *
Cheshire, Meriden, Middlebury, Prospect, South Meriden, Waterbury, Wolcott, Wallingford
Pam Mainiero [South Meriden]
Zone 7 Chair *
Devon, Milford, New Haven, Orange, West Haven, Woodbridge
Kevin Hadlock [Orange]
Zone 8 Chair *
Branford, East Haven, Guilford, Hamden, Madison, North Haven
Sue Vigorito [East Haven]

The Global Action Team helps the district achieve its goals by creating a unified approach to action in Leadership, Membership, Service, and

Global Leadership Team

Global Leadership Team Personnel
Team/Position Person(s)/Club
Global Leadership Team Lori-Ann Beninson, VDG; Peter Marinelli,VDG; Co-Chairs
PSTMZ/New Member Training Lori-Ann Beninson, Peter Marinelli Colette Anderson [Cheshire]
Constitution & By-Laws Joe Fazzino [Branford]
Convention Liaisons: District; State; International Rose Marie Spatafore [Milford]
Global Membership Team Melissa Smith [Seymour], Chair *
New Voices Carol Goldberg [Bethany], Chair
Certified Guiding Lions Melissa Smith, Lori-Ann Beninson
Global Service Team James Bennett, PCC [New Haven], Chair *
Lions Clubs Internation Foundation Shaukat Khan, PDG [Bethany]; Lyn Lyon [Brookfield]

North American Membership Initiative [NAMI]

North American Membership Initiative [NAMI] Personnel
Position Person(s)/Club
NAMI Champion Bill Manthey, PDG
Focus Area 1: work to rejuvenate the district with new clubs Melissa Smith, Chair
Focus Area 2: revitalize struggling clubs by adding new members Bill Manthey, Chair
Focus Area 3: motivate club members with new fellowships and exciting service projects Jim Bennett, Chair
Focus Area 4: provide support to district and club leaders Lori-Ann, Beninson, Peter Marinelli, Co-Chairs;
Communications/Marketing Ben Catanzaro [Beacon Falls], Jacky Curran [East Haven]

LCI Global Causes

LCI Global Causes Personnel
Cause Person(s)/Club
Childhood Cancer
Mission: Help those affected by childhood cancer survive and thrive.
DG Alan J. Sturtz
Diabetes Awareness
Mission: Reduce the prevalence of diabetes and improve the quality of life for those diagnosed
Candy & Alan Smith [Brookfield]
Mission: Sustainably protect and restore our environment to improve the well-being of all communities.
Carol Goldberg [Bethany]
Mission: Ensure all community members have access to nutritious foods.
Rick Zappone [Waterbury]
Mission: Improve the lives of the visually impaired and prevent avoidable blindness.
Klaus Nielsen [Brookfield]
Lions Eye Health Program Joyce Wruck
Opening Eyes/Special Olympics Joan Bennett, PDG
Services for the Blind Anne Fortunato [Branford]
Sight Saver Day Kim Cunningham [CLERF]

Humanitarian Assistance

Humanitarian Assistance Personnel
Resource Person/Club
Emergency Response Team, Blood Drives, Disaster Relief/Disaster Preparedness Grant, Emergency Grants, Community Recovery Grant Mark Beninson [New Fairfield]
Global Health Causes/Opiod Issues in CT Pat Romano [Orange]
People with Disabilities – help empower and build an accepting community for people with intellectual disabilities; charter a “Champions” Lions Club to focus on projects that serve Special Olympics athletes.
Camp Hemlocks Ted Bresky [Bridgeport Host]
Soldiers/Veterans Services, Veterans Stand Down Kamur Olaosebikan [New Haven]
CT Radio Information Service Keith Beaver [Danbury]
Speech and Hearing Marianne Russo-Arrigone [Cheshire]
Fidelco Marie-Ann Barnhart [North Haven]

Youth Programs

Youth Program Personnel
Program Person(s)/Club
Leo Clubs
Lions Quest Jamene Farrell [New Haven]
Peace Poster Contest Kim/Joe Holczinger [New Fairfield]
Opportunities for Youth

CT Lions Eye Research Foundation (CLERF) MD-23

CT Lions Eye Research Foundation (CLERF) MD-23 Personnel
Position Person
District Chair Kim Cunningham
DG Alan J. Sturtz
IPDG Bill Manthey
Past Club President Michael Del Re, Jr., PDG
Past Foundation President Jim Bennett, PCC
Past District Governor [2020-21/2022-23] Joan Bennett
Club Member [2020-21/2022-23] David Howe

Lions Low Vision Centers

Lions Low Vision Centers Personnel
Position Person
President Mike Liberta
Vice President Ronald Ruotolo
Secretary Teri Liberta
Zones 1 & 2 Kamiesh Mehta
Zone 3 & 7 Ronald Ruotolo
Zone 4 Colleen Lieder
Zone 5 Klaus Nielsen
Zone 6 Raechael Corbett
Zone 8 Jameme Farrell

Note:  Contact info and cabinet members are in the directory.

Cabinet meetings are held at:

Vazzy’s Cucina
706 Bridgeport Ave
Shelton, CT 06484

Due to COVID-19 ALL MEETINGS are held virtually, online via Zoom; until further notice.